DIPARTIMENTO DI FISICA



Rome, February 1st, 2017

Dear Colleague,

Since 2001, the Department of Physics at the Sapienza University of Rome established two awards: the Felice Pietro Chisesi and Caterina Tomassoni Prize and the Caterina Tomassoni and Felice Pietro Chisesi Prize, to commemorate and honor two distiguished persons whose legacy has permitted the establishement of these awards. The awards recognize outstanding achievements in theory, experiment, or both, in any branch of Physics. There are no restrictions on the nationality and the affiliation of the awardees. Previous awardees are:

Felice Pietro Chisesi and Caterina Tomassoni Prize

Serge Haroche (2001), Pierre Encrenaz (2003), Till Kirsten (2004), Igor Novikov (2005), Wolfgang Götze (2006), Edward Lorenz (2008), Gabriele Veneziano (2009), Massimo Inguscio (2010), Paul Richards (2011).

Caterina Tomassoni and Felice Pietro Chisesi Prize

Ignazio Ciufolini (2001), Elisa Randall (2003), Federico Capasso (2004), Piero Zucchelli (2005), Savas Dimopoulos (2006), Gerald Gabrielse (2008), Thomas W. Ebbesen (2009), A. Zunger (2010), Herbert Spohn (2011), Alain Aspect (2013), Igor Klebanov (2014), Charles L. Bennett (2015) Prof. Adalberto Giazotto (2016).

This letter is a call for nominations for the 2017 award **Caterina Tomassoni and Felice Pietro Chisesi Prize** which consists of a monetary prize amounting to 40.000 Euro, a medal of the *Schola Physica Romana*, and an invitation to deliver the prize Lecture at the Sapienza University of Rome next June.

A nomination should consist of a letter typically one page long, which illustrates the specific nominee's achievements to be considered. A biographical sketch and a list of the most important publications of the nominee would be higly appreciated. Candidates nominated in preceding years, but who are still qualified, will automatically be reconsidered by the committee. However, a renomination that mention additional work and its impact will strengthen the nomination.

The deadline for nomination is March 1st, 2017, and the award winner will be notified by April 3 2017. The nominations can be send by e-mail to the following address: tomassoniawards@roma1.infn.it

Sincerely,

Giorgio Parisi

giorgio Parin

Chair Tomassoni Award Committee